Basic timeline operations

This section describes the basic operations with timelines and timeline objects; most of them should be self-evident and don't require a detailed explanation.

Timeline features

OpenVIP Editor always starts with an empty timeline. After working on a project, you might save the timeline contents (i.e. references to all clips, their positions, transitions, filters etc.) to a file using the Save timeline or Save timeline as commands from the File menu. A saved project can be later recovered using the Open timeline command. After you finished the work on a project and want to start a new one, use the New timeline command from the File menu.

The editor keeps a history of changes you have made to the timeline. The Undo and Redo operations (accessible in the Edit menu or using the toolbar icons) are used to revert a change or to bring it back again.

Manipulating objects

Any timeline object (a clip or a transition) can be selected by clicking the left mouse button. It is also possible to select more objects at the same time by holding the Ctrl key.

Selected objects may be shifted along the timeline (and also between different tracks) by dragging the mouse.

Deleting of objects is performed using the Remove selected objects command from the Edit menu.

It is often necessary to cut a clip at a particular position (e.g. to remove an unnecessary part of it). This can be achieved by setting the current position indicator to the appropriate place and then clicking the Cut object icon on the toolbar. All timeline objects being intersected by the current position indicator will break in two separate parts.


The preview window buttons are useful to select the cut position precisely.